I was about to post this image and didn't know if I should call the items shown "doilies" or "antimacassar" - didn't know if there was a diffference but I find both terms odd.   I thought I'd spend a minute and "Google" the origin of the words. An hour later after being educated on doilie, doiley, doyley, d'oyley and d'oile I still haven't made a decision.  Around our house they'd be referred to as foo foo things so I thought I'd see if that actually has a definition.  It does and pretty much means "cute things serving no purpose"  - so that's not right! I'll have some with me at The Goodrich Flea Market this Saturday so put your thinking cap on to see how you'd put them to use after you decide what to call them.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I hope you'll enjoy reading about some of our pieces - how or where we acquired them and how we have utilized them over the years.

    Categories

    All

    Archives

    May 2012
    April 2012